Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Share Post: Reddit Facebook
I review security software for a living and I just found a new way to stop online sca
https://www.msn.com/en-us/news/technolog...r-AA1m9Bh4    I review security software for a living and I just found a new way to stop online scams
Story by Brian Nadel  •
1w
                    I spend my days trying out, testing and writing about a variety of security apps, but I’ve noticed that scammers have gotten a lot better lately at making their come-ons look real.

Maybe, it’s that they are getting smarter or they’re effectively using a, but their scams seem to be better targeted and more believable. Unfortunately, traditional malware protection like the best antivirus software with scanning, behavioral analysis and real time monitoring is just not enough anymore with an onslaught of high-quality scams showing up on-screen, in apps and in my inbox.

That’s where Bitdefender’s Scamio comes in. It’s a new approach that extends these defenses with a website for checking if a scam is hiding inside an email, an online advertisement or even what you think is a support chatbot. It’s free, but if you don’t have a Bitdefender account, you need to register for one.
It’s worth the effort because unlike browser extensions that need to be installed and turned on to protect against fraud and swindles, Scamio is based on a Bitdefender website. That said, there’s nothing to download, install or configure, and it leaves no footprint on your system. To the computer, phone or tablet, it looks like any other site and has a minimal impact on performance, making Scamio among the easiest ways to protect against getting caught in a technical support, sales or other scam.

Using AI to fight AI
Fullscreen button
((Image credit: Bitdefender))
((Image credit: Bitdefender))
Provided by Tom's Guide